Skip to Main Content

Member Service Awards

Our Member Service Awards recognize the extraordinary service and significant contribution of OPPI volunteers. The awards recognize volunteers who have raised awareness for the planning profession, mentored students or nurtured relationships, been involved with a special project or program, and more. 

2022 Member Service Awards nominations are OPEN until May 31st!
Nominations may be submitted by OPPI members in good standing.

Member Service Awards questions

All members of the Institute are eligible, except current OPPI Council members. Previous recipients of this award can be nominated more than once provided that the nomination is for a different set of circumstances than that established for any previous award.

Submission Criteria:

Only applications received using the Member Service Award Submission Form will be considered.

Selection Criteria:

  • Outstanding service to the Institute
  • Accumulated service over a number of years
  • Performed a key or integral role with a special project or program
  • Represented the Institute and the planning profession extraordinarily well in a provincial or national forum


There will be a maximum of seven (7) awards given out per year. Winners will be notified by July 31.


Member Service Awards will be presented at an Awards event each year. All winners will be acknowledged in the OPPI Journal, on the website, the monthly newsletter and across OPPI's social media channels.

To make a nomination, read the above Member Service Award Criteria and then fill out and submit the Nomination Form.


Stephen Alexander, RPP (Ret.)
Brian Bridgemann, RPP
Liz Buckton, RPP
Scott Taylor, RPP

Thora Cartlidge
Nancy Farrer
Brenda Khes
Pamela Sweet

Charles Lanktree
Leslie McEachern
Nancy Mott
Kelly Weste
Darryl Young

Paul Baskcomb
Angela Dietrich
Kira Dolch
Chris Wicke

Don McConnell
Bob Short

Christine Thompson (Posthumous)
David Aston
Steve Jefferson

Jeff Celentano initiated the member “Service Awards” for 1994. 

Prior to 1994 "Volunteer Service" awards were given out to recognize volunteers who had made significant contributions with OPPI and the planning profession.
Award Winner Archive